Announcements

Enhancing user engagement and information delivery through a pop-up notification function within the learning portal. Upon each login, a pop-up announcement is displayed and requires an intentional action, such as acknowledging or dismissing the message, ensuring that important information reaches every user.

Functions of the Announcements Manager

New

New announcements can be defined in the dedicated manager, named Announcements. The manager contains a list of already created items and information about the announcement content (e.g. name, ID, author, start and end dates for displaying the announcements, Do Not Show again option). Moreover, when a specific announcement is selected, additional details can be viewed in the Details sections, and the announcement content can be reviewed.

image-20241212-131205.png
Announcements

By pressing the New button, a new announcement can be created, for which several items of information must be defined.

  • Show from - The announcements are released on the date established here. The date can either be entered manually in the language-dependent date format or selected using the calendar window.

  • Show until - The announcements remain visible until the date established here. The date can either be entered manually in the language-dependent date format or selected using the calendar window.

  • Image - This image is displayed for the announcement. If a video with a preview image is selected, that image is used instead. Recommended image size: 800x400px.

  • Image width in % - The width of the image used for the announcements can be defined. If no value is present, the width is set to auto.

  • Video - This video is displayed in the announcement. The preview image of the video is displayed and, if no preview image is available, the tile image is displayed.

  • Enable video autoplay - Once the announcement is displayed to users, the video starts automatically.

  • Attachment - The accepted formats for uploading an attachment are based on the definition in the Configuration manager.

  • Mandatory agreement - This is an additional check that can be used by the administrator to ensure that the announcement is acknowledged by the targeted users. When this mandatory agreement is enabled, an additional check is required, and users are asked to acknowledge the announcement before continuing to navigate through the system. If this option is not enabled, the announcement message is simply dismissed by clicking on the ’X’ button. No report is available to show who has or has not acknowledged the announcement.

  • Enable 'Do not show again' option - Enabling the ’Do not show again’ option allows learners to hide this announcement permanently after viewing it once. If enabled, learners see a "Do not show again" checkbox in the announcement. Their choice is saved, and the announcement does not appear on future logins. If disabled, the announcement is shown on every login.

Important! When the ‘Do not show againcheckbox = ‘true’ and the ‘Mandatory agreementcheckbox changes from ‘Unticked’ to ‘Ticked’, users who have previously checked the Do not show again option will again be presented the announcement. This is because the mandatory agreement condition has changed.

announcement-manager.png
Configuration of an announcement

The information can be provided in multiple languages, making the announcements a multilingual function that can be shown to several users in several languages.

Announcement Assignment

Announcements are assigned by first creating a new item and navigating to the dedicated section called “Announcements assignment”. The announcement is displayed to the selected users, groups, or clients after login at a configurable time or date. If the announcements should no longer be displayed, selected users, groups, or clients can be removed from the assignment list, or they expire after the deadline has passed.

image-20241212-133817.png
Announcement assignments

Announcements Visibility to Users

The announcement is displayed to the users, groups, and clients previously defined in the manager. It is displayed according to the defined start and end dates. If the announcement expires, meaning that the end date has passed, it is no longer shown to the defined entities.

The announcement can be dismissed by clicking on the “X” button or outside the item.

announcement Example (EN)-20260422-065010.png
Example announcement

If the administrator determines that the shared information must be acknowledged by users, an additional configuration can be defined, after which users are asked to acknowledge the information in the announcement. The message remains on the screen until the “Acknowledge” button is pressed.

image-20260527-091325.png
Acknowledge button

Information about the actions performed on the announcements is not saved or visible in reports.

After logging out of the system and logging in again, the announcement is displayed again with the defined target.

If the Enable 'Do not show again' option is enabled by the administrator in the Announcement manager, learners can decide whether to see the announcement again on their next login.

If learners select the option, the announcement is no longer displayed on their next login. Otherwise, the announcement appears again.

Important! Some configured functionalities (e.g. enabling video autoplay) might not be available in some browsers (e.g. Mozilla Firefox) because of browser policies that are outside the product's control, such as preventing videos from autoplaying with sound to improve the user experience and reduce unwanted noise. Browser-level configuration might therefore be required to enable video autoplay.

Edit

Announcements can be edited via the “Edit” button, and the visibility or target users can be modified. The changes are applied instantly.

Delete

Announcements can also be deleted via the “Delete” button. A warning message is shown before deletion.

grafik-20251006-143927.png
Option to delete announcements


Clearances

Clearance

Search in Managers

Navigation Manager