System Texts

The system-texts manager allows any text displayed in the system to be adapted as required. System texts are managed in so-called "bundles". Each bundle contains a given system text in all platform languages.

Example: The term "Learning path" is to be replaced by "Course series". A search for the term "learning path" returns all bundles containing the term, allowing adaptation to the customer's specific needs.

System texts and instructions for use can be defined. Instructions for use can simply be integrated into the existing system interface. System texts can only be integrated in isolated cases and for specific points via the configuration file.

These settings are relevant to the client context. Selecting the client limits the changes to this specific client and prevents effects on other clients. The client context is also visible in the column "text context" of already changed bundles. Unchanged bundles are tagged with "Global". To undo changes, changed bundles can be marked and reset can be selected. Changed bundles will have the default value ("Global") again.

Functions of the system text manager

New

New system texts can be added here. A distinction is made between instructions for use and system texts.

New

New → Switching the display for online help bundles

Instructions for use are highlighted in the system by "i" icons. In the active administrator mode, empty instructions for use can also be displayed; these are identified by a small red triangle in the top right-hand corner. When a new instruction for use is created, it can be placed at a predefined position intended for an instruction for use that has not yet been created. In addition, a bundle name must be assigned and at least one identifier must be specified. The bundle name is freely selectable. The identifier, which serves to link the text with the corresponding place in the system, is displayed when an empty instruction for use below the "i" is selected. For text that already exists within an instruction for use, the identifier and bundle name are displayed in the first line. Any number of identifiers can be added. As a result, the same instructions for use appear wherever the entered identifiers are used. New instructions for use can be created in all available platform languages.

New → System wording

Using this option, new bundles can be created, integrated via the configuration file, and displayed on the screen. The bundle name is also assigned here, and the bundle can be created in all platform languages.

Edit

When bundles are edited, they are displayed in all available languages. When editing, one of the "standard wording", "customer wording" or "patch wording" texts can be adopted as the basis for further editing.

Edit

Editing → Identifier

The text of a bundle can be edited both for system texts and for instructions for use in equal measure. With instructions for use, the identifier can also be adapted independently from the text of the bundle. Additional identifiers can be added and can no longer be deleted.

Flag

Flag → Set flag

Flags serve as permanent identifiers of bundles. Line-by-line highlighting of bundles can only take place within a spreadsheet. Highlighting with flags, however, can be applied universally. If highlighting with flags is used, it is identified by an entry in the table in the "With flag" column. Before the function is executed, any number of lines can be highlighted in the table. Bundles with flags can be exported separately.

Flag → Remove flag

Set flags are removed from the selected lines in the table.

Flag -> Remove all flags

When this function is executed, the flags are removed from all bundles in the table. It is irrelevant whether the lines are highlighted or visible in the current spreadsheet.

Export

An easy way of updating existing system texts is provided by exporting or importing bundles. Exporting results in TXT files, which can be edited easily and re-entered into the system via import. One TXT file is created for each platform language.

The exporting of bundles can be restricted so that not all bundles that have been created must be exported. The option exists of only exporting individual languages. In addition, it can be configured to show whether standard, customer or patch wording or active or amended wording should be exported. In addition, it can be also restricted as to whether all bundles or only those with flags should be exported. For back-up purposes, the option also exists to carry out a back-up of the active wording. When choosing this option, all other settings are ignored in the export input window.

Import

Upon importing, some requirements apply to the import files. The most convenient way to manage imports is to conduct them on the basis of previously exported files.

  • The text file to be imported must have the coding UTF-8.

  • The name of the import file needs to be in the format imp_countrycode_YYYYMMTT.txt (e.g. imp_br_YYYYMMTT.txt for British English or imp_en_YYYYMMTT.txt for American English).

  • The import file is a line-oriented txt file, with tab stops serving to divide columns.

  • For each dataset that is to be imported, one line contains the appropriate column information.

  • Each line generally consists of bundle name/tab stop/bundle text/tab stop and is completed by a line break. Possible text between the second tab stop and the line break will be ignored.

  • Only datasets for which the imported text differs from the changed text or - if no changed text exists - from the active text will be updated.

  • If the imported text differs from the changed text but matches the active text, the changed text will be deleted.

  • Datasets with unknown bundle names will not be imported.

  • They must not contain any line breaks. If necessary, the line breaks must be entered with "<br>"!

The uploaded system texts must be activated, as with manual editing.

A backup is recommended before each import.

Activation

Bundles are not directly transferred to active wording but only marked as changed. To transfer the amended text to the system and thus also to the customer wording, the "Activation" function must be carried out. The new active wording is visible on the new page without restarting the system.

Reset

If unintentional changes are made and switched to active, the wording can always be switched back to the original state. In the meantime, supplied patch wordings are not deleted and are therefore taken into consideration. All customer wordings are lost when reset. For backup purposes, a backup can also be carried out before resetting. The functionality can either be carried out for all bundles or partially for the bundles highlighted in the table and bundles assigned with flags.

Administrator mode

When changes are made to bundles, the corresponding bundle text can either be searched for directly in the system-text search or activated via administrator mode for instructions for use or system texts.

Administrator mode → Switching the display for online help bundles

In non-activated administrator mode, only instructions for use containing text are displayed. In addition, optional instructions for use are available in many places in the system but remain hidden because they do not contain any text. When administrator mode is active, populated instructions for use appear with a small green triangle in the bottom left-hand corner, and empty instructions for use appear with a small red triangle in the top right corner.

Administrator mode → Switching the display for system text bundles

When system texts are changed, the corresponding wording can be searched for. As several bundles can exist with identical text, the precise bundle to be changed must be identified. When administrator mode for system texts is activated, only the bundle names are displayed throughout the system interface. The bundle text remains hidden. In the administration area of system texts, bundle names can be searched for specifically.

Hint

These settings are relevant to the client context. Selecting the client limits the changes to this specific client and prevents effects on other clients. The client context is also visible in the column "text context" of already changed bundles. Unchanged bundles are tagged with "Global".

To undo changes, changed bundles can be marked and reset can be selected. Changed bundles will have the default value ("Global") again.

Search in Managers

Deep Dive Guides

System Texts Administration and Configuration